North Tipperary Wheelers news

The racing season came to an end this past Sunday with the annual contesting of the Flying Mile which as usual was held over a measured mile on the N52 bypass. Again, and in spite of the not-so-nice weather, a great crowd turned out and as a result, instead of handicapping, the riders were divided into three groups of similar ability. However the star of the show was Eva Moynan, who at ten and a half recorded the excellent time of 3.32.
The first group was won by Neil Gallagher with John Caulfield and Ruth Spillane in joint second. Group two went to Kevin Byrne with Duncan Hodgins just one second behind him and Liam Callaghan one second adrift again. Peter Moynan brought up the rear in that group. In group three, John O’Carroll stormed to the fastest time of the day 2.09 with Mike O’Keeffe and John Spillane only seconds behind him.
The next item on the agenda is the AGM which will be held on 9th November in the lounge bar of the Dapp Inn and all members and intending members should make every effort to attend.
The Christmas dinner has also been arranged for Sunday 13th December in the Fairways in Kilruane at 6pm.
Winter training schedules will resume very soon and details will be posted on the web site and also printed here. Once again, the web address is

John O'Carroll heading for the day's best time.   Photo: Vic Nott

John O'Carroll heading for the day's best time. Photo: Vic Nott


Leave a comment

Filed under Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s